Board Directors




Lucy Roffey

B Com, Grad Dip Mngt, GAICD, FCA

Lucy Roffey was appointed to the Board on 1 October 2015, and was appointed as Chairperson on 1 October 2017.

Ms Roffey is Chief Executive Officer of Goldfields Shire Council. She was previously Chief Executive Officer of Buloke Shire Council and has held other executive roles in Local and State Government.

Ms Roffey’s expertise includes Finance and Corporate Governance, Strategic Planning, Stakeholder Management and Commercial Operation.

Ms Roffey is a member of Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand’s Public Sector Panel and the Victorian Inclusion and Diversity Group.

Acting Managing Director
Neville Pearce

MBA, BEng (Civil and Structural), FIEAust, GAICD, AFAIM

Neville Pearce was appointed as Acting Managing Director on 18 February 2019, which includes his role as an Executive Director on the Board.

Mr Pearce has 30 years of experience in the water industry, holding leadership positions with Central Highlands Water and Barwon Water prior to joining Coliban Water in 2008.

Neville has a background in strategic planning, contract management, asset management, water and sewer operations, project design and delivery, and customer service.

Neville has been a Director on the Board of AWA Alliance Bank since October 2013, is the Chair of the Audit and Risk Committee and member of the People and Performance Committee.

Neville is also a Director on the Board of Zero Emissions Water (ZEW), focused on delivery of green energy and reducing carbon emissions for the water industry.

Deputy Chairperson

Nigel McGuckian
B. Ag. Science (Hons), Grad Dip Education, FAICD

Mr McGuckian was appointed to the Board on 1 October 2017.

Mr McGuckian is Chair of the Loddon Campaspe Regional Partnership, and the Otis Foundation. He was a cofounder of RM Consulting Group – an environmental and agricultural consulting business and worked as a consultant with the business for 28 years. Mr McGuckian has a broad range of experience in agriculture, environment, economics and community development.

Rowan O'Hagan

B AgSc, M AgSc, MAcct, PhD, FAICD

Dr Rowan O’Hagan was appointed to the Board on 1 October 2015.

Dr O’Hagan was a Director of North East Water from 2011 to 2015. She is also a Member of Charles Sturt University Council. Dr O’Hagan is the Principal of Rowan O’Hagan Consulting and the National Manager of the Australian Pork Industry Benchmarking Project.

David Richardson

David Richardson was appointed to the Board in
May 2014.

Mr Richardson has extensive experience in
strengthening engagement with industry,
government and the community and has held a
wide number of executive management roles.
Mr Richardson is the Partnerships Manager for
Deakin University Bendigo and was Chief Executive
Officer of Strategem Financial Group (2007–16).
Mr Richardson is an Independent Director of
Victorian Chamber of Commerce & Industry
(2016–present), CVGT Australia Pty Ltd (2016 –
present) and is a member of the Victorian
Government’s Regional Partnership for Loddon
Campaspe (2016–present).

Mr Richardson holds a Bachelor of Arts, a Masters
of Business Administration and is a Diploma
graduate of the Australian Institute of Company
Directors program.

Marika McMahon


Marika McMahon was appointed to the Board on 1 October 2015.

Ms McMahon is a Lawyer and Director of O’Farrell Robertson McMahon. She is a Director of Be.Bendigo, a founding member of Women.i.s.e Bendigo, life member at Women’s Health Loddon Mallee and a member at the Bendigo Law Association.

Ms McMahon has been a lawyer for over 20 years and has over 10 years’ experience on statutory boards at Bendigo Health, Rural Ambulance Victoria and Ambulance Victoria.

Bob Cameron


Bob Cameron was appointed to the Board on
1 October 2015.

Mr Cameron is a Lawyer and
Consultant at Petersen Westbrook Cameron and
was a Minister for Local Government, Workcover
and the TAC, Agriculture and Police, Emergency
Services and Corrections in the Victorian
Government for 11 years.

William (Bill) O'Neil

BA (Urban and Regional Studies), MAICD

William O’Neil was appointed to the Board on 1 October 2015.

Mr O’Neil is the owner and Director of O’Neil Pollock and Associates Pty Ltd, a sole practitioner town planning and regional economic development consulting firm based in Harcourt. In addition to his consulting business Mr O’Neil is a Senior Sessional Member with Planning Panels Victoria.

Mr O’Neil is a Director of Loddon Mallee Housing Services (trading as Haven; Home, Safe), Bendigo Affordable Housing Company Ltd, Mount View Properties (VIC) Pty Ltd and WOMP Pty Ltd. He served three terms as a Director on the Board of the Bendigo Health Care Group (2007 – 2015).


Helen Symes
BBus (Accounting), Dip Financial Planning, CPA

Helen Symes was appointed to the Board on 1 October 2017.

Helen is a Certified Practising Accountant and has over 25 years of diverse accounting experience across corporate agriculture, healthcare, emergency services, media and public practice. She has held senior finance roles for both private and Government organisations, including Ambulance Service Victoria, Warakirri Pty Ltd, and Wimmera Health Care Group. She is also a partner in a dryland farming

Helen was the Independent External Member on the Audit, Governance and Risk Committee for GWMWater from 2016 to 2017.


Return to Board Home Page

Home | Privacy | Legal | Protected Disclosure | Accessibility | Site Map | Contact Us |   Copyright © Coliban Water